Leadership Committees


The Advisory Committee was comprised of experts named by the Cook County Board President representing suburban councils of governments, and civic, labor, transportation, business, urban planning, and economic development experts that helped redefine how transportation investments are made.

The Committee was the means for continuous public involvement in the planning process and advised the County on the development of the LRTP by identifying issues and transportation solutions critical to various constituencies.

Responsibilities of the Advisory Committee included:

  • Assisting in developing the plan’s Vision Statement;
  • Identifying existing conditions and future scenarios;
  • Promoting partnerships with constituents and stakeholders;
  • Working to develop a general understanding or agreement on future goals; and
  • Advising on final recommendations.

All materials presented at Advisory Committee meetings and meeting summaries were posted to the project website afterward to keep proceedings transparent. The list of Advisory Committee members is below.

Mr. Michael Tang Chief Executive Officer National Material L.P.
Ms. Rita Athas Board of Directors World Business Chicago
Ms. MarySue Barrett President Metropolitan Planning Council
Mr. Frank Beal Senior Executive Civic Consulting Alliance
Mayor Gerald Bennett President Southwest Conference of Mayors
Mr. Michael Borgstrom President Wendella Sightseeing Company, Inc.
Mayor Paul Braun President South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association
Mr. Roberto Escalante Director Small Business Transportation Resource Center
Illinois Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
Village President Sandy Frum President Northwest Municipal Conference
Ms. Jacky Grimshaw Vice President Policy Center for Neighborhood Technology
Mr. Michael Jasso Bureau Chief Cook County Bureau of Economic Development
Ms. Theresa Mintle President and Chief Executive Officer Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce
Ms. Rosa Ortiz Program Director Enterprise Community Partners
Mr. Jorge Ramirez President Chicago Federation of Labor
Ms. Deborah Sawyer President Environmental Design International, Inc.
Mayor Ronald Serpico Member West Central Municipal Conference
Mr. Joseph Szabo Executive Director Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
Mr. John Yonan, P.E. Professional Engineer Cook County Department of Transportation
Ms. Andrea Zopp President Chicago Urban League



The Program Committee consisted of business, commerce, economic development, transportation and urban planning experts. Program Committee members helped Cook County facilitate broad coordination among agencies and integrate the various agencies’ transportation plans. The Program Committee was the specialist group for the study with greater understanding of the transportation plans of their respective agencies.

The responsibilities of Program committee members were to:

  • Provide guidance and feedback on the plan;
  • Monitor progress and schedule;
  • Provide technical insight into agency priorities;
  • Coordinate with other agencies and organizations;
  • Provide input for consideration of various plans and major projects of other agencies;
  • Promote the LRTP and support its implementation.
Mr. Greg Bedalov Executive Director Illinois State Toll Highway Authority
Mr. Randy Blankenhorn Secretary Illinois Department of Transportation
Mr. Ben Brockschmidt Executive Director Illinois Chamber of Commerce- Infrastructure Council
Mr. Ron Burke President Active  Transportation Alliance
Mr. Dorval R. Carter, Jr. President CTA
Mr. Joseph Ciaccio President Illinois Railroad Association
Mr. Matt Hart Executive Director Illinois Trucking Association
Mr. Larry Ivory President Illinois Black Chamber of Commerce
Mr. Robert McKenna Assistant Commissioner Chicago Department of Planning and Development
Mr. Don Orseno Chief Executive Officer Metra
Mr. Jorge Perez Executive Director Hispanic American Construction Industry Association
Mr. Arnold Randall General Superintendent Cook County Forest Preserve District
Ms. Leanne Redden Executive Director Regional Transportation Authority (RTA)
Mr. T.J. Ross Executive Director Pace
Ms. Rebekah Scheinfeld Commissioner Chicago Department of Transportation
Ms. Karen Tamley Commissioner City of Chicago Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities